In the run-up to Prince’s Day, the first Tuesday of September is traditionally also Duurzame Dinsdag (Sustainable Tuesday): a special day on which politicians in The Hague focus on sustainable ideas and initiatives. This year it was Stientje van Veldhoven, Secretary of State for Infrastructure and Water Management, who took charge of the Duurzame Dinsdag briefcase. This briefcase contained 359 innovative and inspiring ideas from society. The best initiatives were rewarded today.

Every year on this day, three people who have been working for years on sustainability receive a Duurzaam Lintje (Sustainability Ribbon). This year, one of them is the co-founder and CEO of the Dutch Postcode Lottery, Boudewijn Poelmann. Sigrid van Aken, director of the Postcode Lottery, received the ribbon on behalf of Boudewijn Poelmann from Ruud Koornstra, an entrepreneur and the first Energy Commissioner of the Netherlands, who himself was awarded a ribbon last year.

The Duurzame Dinsdag jury was chaired by sustainable entrepreneur Maurits Groen, who in 2015 was ranked number one in the Duurzame 100 (Sustainable 100) published by the Dutch daily newspaper Trouw. During the award presentation, he praised the smart, effective concept of the Postcode Lottery, which under the professional and inspiring leadership of Boudewijn Poelmann has become one of the most important sources of income for many charities in the Netherlands and abroad. With total donations of €8.6 Billion since its foundation in 1989, the Postcode Lottery is now the third largest private donor in the world.

Sigrid van Aken: “I am happy to receive this token of appreciation on behalf of Boudewijn Poelmann and all colleagues at the Postcode Lottery. We were founded with the aim of bringing about a sustainable society, and we are committed to this. We are driven by the desire to create a better, more sustainable future for people and planet. It is hard to think of a stronger motivation. We would like to involve as many people as possible, first of all the Lottery players who make this possible. Our support for hundreds of charities and thousands of social initiatives is of great importance, as is the commitment of many other organisations. Everyone’s contribution is indispensable.”

The other ribbon recipients this year are Louise Vet, director of the Netherlands Institute of Ecology (NIOO-KNAW) and Daan Roosegaarde (Studio Roosegaarde).

Duurzame troonrede (Speech from the Throne on Sustainability)
This year’s Speech from the Throne on Sustainability was given by Volkert Engelsman, founder and director of EOSTA (the largest trading company for organically grown fruit and vegetables in Europe) and number one in the Trouw Duurzame Top 100.